14th Annual Simmons Lecture and Surgery Research Day Wrap-UP

Dear Colleagues,

We would like to thank all of you who attended the Department’s Annual Research Day today at the University Club for your contributions and participation.  The event was a resounding success highlighted by an inspiring lecture from our visiting professor, Dr. Avery Nathens. 

It also gives us great pleasure to announce the winners of the awards for scientific presentations and posters.  These are as follows:

Scientific Presentation Awards
First Place: Mitchell Dyer, MD
Runner-up winners: Samer Tohme, MD and Jennifer Miller, MD

Posters Presentation Awards
Xianghong Zhang, MD
Joshua Brown, MD
Patrick Varley, MD

All awardees will receive a cash prize and certificate in recognition of their outstanding presentations.  Please join us in congratulating these individuals on this recognition.

Best wishes,

Timothy R. Billiar, M.D.
Chair, Department of Surgery
George Vance Foster Endowed Professor
Distinguished Professor of Surgery
Vice-President and Chief Academic Officer
    University of Pittsburgh Physicians
Associate Medical Director
    UPMC International and Commercial Services Division


Matthew R. Rosengart, MD,  MPH
Associate Professor
Departments of Surgery & Critical Care Medicine